Amsterdam Metro

Like many other metropolises Amsterdam, too, has a metro, but with a difference. The Amsterdam metro was built only in 1977 and has just two underground stations and four lines. The metro fans out from Centraal station to the suburbs, Bijlmer, Amstelveen and Diemen. When you are staying in the centre of Amsterdam, it is far more likely that you will hop on one of the trams. They crisscross the city centre and have their stops close to museums and attractions.

Metro Stations

There are only three metro stations in Amsterdam centre; Centraal Station, Nieuwmarkt and Waterlooplein. The metro runs from 06.00-24.00. All metro stations have check-in check out gates which will only open when you swipe your public transport chip card, OV-chipkaart in Dutch. Buy your non-personalized chip card or a one-hour ticket from GVB (Amsterdam Public Transport) service desks or vending machine at the metro stations. There is a surcharge of €0.50, if you buy your ticket at the counter of the service desk. 

Travelling by metro is easy as there are only five lines each with its own colour

* Green line 50: Gein – Duivendrecht – Station Zuid/WTC – Lelylaan – Sloterdijk – Contactweg
* Orange line 51: Centraal Station – Amstel station – Station Zuid/WTC – Amstelveen Centrum
* Blue line 52: Amsterdam Noord – Station Zuid
* Red line 53: Centraal Station – Amstelstation – Diemen Zuid – Gaasperplas
* Yellow line 54: Centraal Station – Amstelstation – Bijlmer – Holendrecht – Gein

Address: GVB Tickets and Info, Stationsplein Central Station, Amsterdam
Opening hours: Monday to Friday: 07:00 – 21:00 and Saturday and Sunday: 08:00 – 21:00.

Discover Amsterdam hassle-free and enjoy unlimited travel for 1 to 7 days on all GVB trams, buses,ferries and metro. Buy your public transport pass online.

Photo credit: Vitaly Volkov